SCAT-Awards---Don-WeaverThe South Carolina Association of Taxpayers (SCAT), “The voice of the taxpayer in South Carolina,” held its 14th Annual Legislative Luncheon at the Capital City Club in Columbia Wednesday, February 17th.

Several candidates for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General and members of the legislature were present and spoke briefly during the annual event.

SCAT President Don Weaver introduced leaders of citizen taxpayer groups from across the Palmetto State attending the Luncheon.

Prestigious “Friend of the Taxpayer Award” was presented to four elected officials and members of the media from the Upcountry during the annual award ceremony.

An award was presented to South Carolina Treasurer Converse Chellis, who was honored for a recent vote that led to “cutting the budget more now than later” as a member of the State Budget and Control Board.

SCAT-Awards---Bob-DillAs state treasurer and one who is involved in day-to-day management of state finances, Weaver said Chellis is “largely responsible for South Carolina maintaining a AAA credit rating.”

Bob McLain, Program Director and talk show host of the Bob McLain Program that airs from Greenville weekdays from 3-6 p.m. on News Radio WORD and FM 106.3, accepted the “Friend of the Taxpayer Award” for his company.

“We hear about so many liberals in the media and we want to say that there are some conservatives in the media – who spread the message about lower taxes and smaller government. One of the names that come up frequently in the Upstate is WORD Radio and we want to recognize them,” Weaver said.

It was an honor to accept the Friend of the Taxpayer Award recognizing The Times Examiner that SCAT President Don Weaver described as “no better friend” in support of South Carolina Taxpayers for the past 16 years as the Independent Conservative Voice of the Palmetto State in print.

SCAT-Awards---Bob-McClainRep. Nathan Ballentine, who represents House District 71 that includes parts of Lexington and Richland Counties, was presented the Friend of the Taxpayer Award for his work to bring transparency to government including his stand on recorded votes and budget cutting.

Other recipients of the Friend of the Taxpayer Award were Senator Greg Ryberg and Attorney General Henry McMaster.

Senator Ryberg has been a champion of smaller government and reduced spending and Attorney General McMaster was recognized for organizing 14 state attorneys general to pressure US Senator Ben Nelson’s to reject the “Corn Husker Buyout” that would increase the cost of Medicaid expansion in all other states, or face a constitutional challenge in court. Under pressure, Senator Nelson rejected the proposed buyout.

SCAT-Awards---Henry-McMasterThe South Carolina Association of Taxpayers (SCAT) membership consists of taxpayer advocacy groups from across the state. Don Weaver, President of SCAT is from Columbia. Jim Keasler from Greenville and David James from Cayce are Vice Presidents. Mark Johnson from Chapin is Treasurer and Stephanie Haile from Columbia is Executive Secretary.

Members of the SCAT Board of Directors are Mary Williams, Don Bowen, Dan Winchester, Butch Taylor, President of the Greenville County Taxpayers Association, and Aurelia Hood and Lucille Dismukes, leaders of the Spartanburg County Citizens for Efficient Government.

The South Carolina Association of Taxpayers may be reached at PO Box 50799, Columbia, SC 29250. Telephone (803) 748 9198. Web site:


You have no rights to post comments

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive